District Em​​​ergency Management Committees


Western Australia has eleven emergency management districts, each with its own District Emergency Management Committee (DEMC). The key function of the DEMC is to assist in the establishment and maintenance of effective emergency arrangements in their districts.

DEMCs focus on risk within their district and ensure information received from the State flows down to the Local Emergency Management Committees (LEMCs). They support the LEMCs with advice on emergency management arrangements, as well as participating in exercises and testing of arrangements.


​Western Australia's Emergency Management Districts


There are DEMCs in the Great Southern, South West, Wheatbelt, Goldfields, Midwest-​Gascoyne, Pilbara and Kimberley regions. Each Emergency Management district has a DEMC, chaired by a District Emergency Coordinator. Each of these is supported by a District Emergency Management Advisor as Executive Office​r.


There are four DEMCs in the Perth metropolitan region: North, East, Central and South Metropolitan.


The District Emergency Management Advisors support the work of the SEMC by providing executive support and services to the emergency management sector throughout Western Australia.