​​​​​​2015 Resilient Australia Awards - The Western Australian Awards Presentation


The Resilient Australia Awards is an Australian Government initiative sponsored by the Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department, in conjunction with states and territories. The State Emergency Management Committee (SEMC) is the Western Australian awards convenor on behalf of the Minister for Emergency Services. Resilience-building is a key component of the SEMC's focus on emergency management in Western Australia.

2015 was the 16th year of the awards, recognising innovative practices and achievements across the nation that are making our communities safer, stronger, more resilient and better prepared to manage any emergency situation.

On 14 October 2015 a State Award ceremony was held during the 8th Australasian Natural Hazards Management Conference 2015 at The University Club of Western Australia. The Hon. Joe Francis MLA Minister for Emergency Services, Corrective Services, Small Business and Veterans announced the winners and presented trophies for each of the categories.

In addition to the category winners, some additional entrants deserved special mention and were awarded "Highly Commended" trophies.

The winners of each category were referred for inclusion in the national judging. The winners were announced in November 2015; two Western Australian entrants received commendations. For more information on the National competition, click here. 

 The ​2​​​​​​0​​​​​​​​15  winners

​L-R:  Mayor Logan Howlett (City of Cockburn), Cr Bob Hall (City of Greater Geraldton), Michael Emery (City of Cockburn), Johannes Muller (City of Greater Geraldton), Minister Joe Francis MLA, Naomi Decker (City of Mandurah), Claire Silveira ( Australian Red Cross), Myra Giardini (City of Mandurah), Erin Fuery (Australian Red Cross), Frank Edwards (SEMC Chair), Hannah Tagore (Department of Fire and Emergency Services). Image courtesy of Kate Drennan Photography.


The 2015 People's ​​​​Choice winning photograph - Western Australia

The photography category was judged by a people's choice online voting system over several weeks with the State's winning photograph entitled "WA South West Communities under Threat" taken by DFES photographer, Kyle Nowak.

The photo depicts volunteer firefighters from the WA Metropolitan Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service attending an out of control bushfire that threatened the South West town of Northcliffe, approximately 358 kilometres south of Perth.   

Photographer: Kyle Nowak, Department of Fire and Emergency Services



Award Winners

State and Local Government Award Category 


Organisation ​Project/Initiative
City of MandurahBeyond the Gate, Aged Care Emergency Support Network


Community Award Category


​Organisation ​Project/Initiative
​Australian Red CrossThe Pillowcase Project


Highly Commended Awards - State and Local Government Award Category


 In addition to the category winners, other entrants also deserved special mention and were awarded Highly Commended trophies:

​Organisation ​Project/Initiative
​City of Greater GeraldtonOperation Barndi Mara
​​City of CockburnDisaster Aware


Photography Award - People's Choice


2015 Fact File: